Good Day, Sunshine

Art is not my thing, but I’ve ben teaching it once a week since April. I find myself struggling to come up with a new idea each week. This morning when I got to school, our actual art teacher (who knows art is not my thing) suggested sidewalk chalk. What a brilliant (and super easy) idea for a sunny day at the end of the second-to-last week of school! Each student got two sections of the sidewalk and a white piece of chalk. They spent 15 minutes drawing in the first section, 15 minutes writing in the second section, and 15 minutes sharing their art with the class. We enjoyed quiet expression, cool shade, and several admiring pedestrians. I’m totally doing this again.

IMG_3347

IMG_3355 - Version 2

Leave a Reply

