43

That’s the number of days I taught this year before going on maternity leave. My first graders have finished their long vowel neighborhoods. My kindergarteners are four letters away from completing the alphabet. All of my students have amazing handwriting and are either reading beautifully or headed in that direction. Not to mention they are in the best hands I could imagine during my absence. Deep breath. Although I am a bit reluctant to leave my sweet little class, I can hardly wait to meet our new baby! School ended today with our “baby countdown” at 2. Someone asked what would happen to the countdown after I left. I explained that it would be at zero by Monday, and if the baby still hasn’t arrived, they can starting counting up to keep track of the days I am overdue. Let’s hope that doesn’t happen! Farewell to life as a teacher until April 8, 2013 and hello to the priceless months ahead that I will get to to spend with my husband, our son, and our newest addition!

One thought on “43

Leave a Reply

