Monaco Lane

Fresh out of college with a multiple subject credential and high hopes of finding a job, I discovered a newspaper ad for a primary teacher at Santa Cruz Children’s School. Three interviews later, I began my journey as an educator in a very special place that has become my second home. That fall, I was given a set of Open Court Reading and Writing Workbooks, and beyond that, complete freedom to teach creatively. Being the crafty lady I have always been, I decided to make my own set of phonics puppets. Naturally my students fell in love with them, and eight years later my “Teacher’s Creatures” have evolved into a reading curriculum that I call The Monaco Method for Early Literacy. Last year, the same teachers that hired me, inspired me, to share my ideas with the world. So, as I raise my 2-and-a-half-year-old son and teach kindergarteners how to read, I also cut, sew, glue, paint, print, laminate, and now, blog… about the road that led me to Monaco Lane: Curriculum for Early Literacy.

2 thoughts on “Monaco Lane

Leave a Reply

